Orange County Women
 Lawyers Association
For Women Lawyers and Those Who Support Their Advancement

OCWLA History of Awardees

Nominations Open For 2023 Awardees

Deadline to nominate:
March 17, 2023

Judge of The Year

The criteria for the award is based upon the nominee’s contributions and commitment to bench, bar and community, especially with regards to advancing women in the legal professions and women’s issues generally. 

Download Nomination Form

Attorney of The Year

The Attorney of the Year should be an outstanding member of the legal community as well as the community at large, with a proven commitment to advancing women in the legal profession as well as women’s issues generally.

Download Nomination Form

Advancement of Women Award

This award seeks to recognize and celebrate a law firm, or other legal organization, whose words, actions, and deeds support the advancement of women within the firm and in the greater legal community. Please include the following when submitting your nomination:

  • The total number of partners within the firm and the number of female partners;
  • Other leadership positions held by women in the organization;
  • Specific policies that promote diversity and the interests of women;
  • A description of how the organization’s culture supports the advancement and growth of women;
  • Examples of how the efforts of the nominee have resulted in advancement of women in the firm and the legal profession;
  • Notable awards, recognitions, or other metrics showing the firm’s efforts;
  • Notable women attorneys and achievements within the firm
Download Nomination Form

Judge of the Year Awardees

1987 Hon. Harmon Scoville
1988 Hon. Sheila Prell Sonenshine
1989 Hon. Betty Lou Lamoreaux
1990 Hon. Frances Munoz
1991 Hon. Jacquelyn D. Thomason
1992 Hon. Linda H. McLaughlin (deceased)
1993 Hon. Eileen C. Moore
1994 Hon. Betty Elias (deceased)
1995 Hon. Nancy Wieben Stock
1996 Hon. Donald E. Smallwood (deceased)
1997 Hon. Kathleen O'Leary
1998 Hon. William MacDonald (deceased)
1999 Hon. Edward J. Wallin
2000 Hon. Jack K. Mandel
2001 Hon. Tam Nomoto Schumann
2002 Hon. Marjorie Laird Carter
2003 Hon. Frederick P. Horn
2004 Hon. Robert B. Hutson
2005 Hon. Wendy Lindley
2006 Hon. Pamela Iles
2007 Hon. Francisco Firmat
2008 Hon. John Nho Trong Nguyen
2009 Hon. Alicemarie Stotler (deceased)
2010 Hon. Arthur Nakazato
2011 Hon. Jamoa Moberly
2012 Hon. Franz Miller
2013 Hon. James J. Di Cesare
2014 Hon. Glenda Sanders
2015 Hon. Josephine L. Staton
2016 Hon. Gail Andler
2017 Hon. Maria D. Hernandez
2018 Hon. Karen L. Robinson
2019 Hon. Elizabeth Macias
2021 Hon. Erithe A. Smith
2022 Hon. Deborah C. Servino

Attorney of the Year Awardees

1993 Grace E. Emery (deceased)
1994 Pat Herzog (deceased)
1995 Elaine Streger
1996 Michelle A. Reinglass
1997 Margie Dickinson (deceased)
1998 Jane Shade
1999 Scott Wylie
2000 Marjorie Fuller
2001 Cisca Stellhorn
2002 Hon. Franz Miller
2003 Jennifer Keller
2004 Jean Hobart
2005 Pearl Gondrella Mann
2006 Susan Cameron Kelley
2007 Michelle Lents
2008 Donna Bashaw
2009 Solange Ritchie
2010 Terese Oliver
2011 Wylie A. Aitken
2012 Steven Hittelman
2013 Ashleigh Aitken
2014 Joan Huckabone Mayer
2015 Karen "Kerry" Polyakov
2016 Michele Johnson
2017 Mary-Christine "M.C." Sungaila
2018 Andra B. Greene
2019 Lei Lei Wang Ekvall
2021 Christy Lea
2022 Antoinette Balta

Advancement of Women Awardees

2018 Best Best & Krieger LLP
2019 Walsworth - WFBM, LLP
2021 Julie Davis & Taco Bell Legal Counsel
2022 Community Legal Aid SoCal

Everyday Heroes

Nominate an Everyday Hero

Annee Della Donna
Pamela Tahim Thakur
Jeanann Khalife
Laverne Bugna
Denisha McKenzie
Bettina Yanez

Mei Tsang
Rosanna E. Moreno
Mark Edwards
Kimberly Valentine
Staycie Sena
Jane Stoever

Nancy Dahan
Michelle A. Philo
Michael Baroni
Shirin Forootan
Maria Stearns
Sheneice J. Smith

Jennifer Friend
Shara Beral Witkin
Ellen Ahn
Brooke Weitzman 
Antoinette Balta
Kimberly La Salle

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software